Skip to main content

Faculty Knowledge Exchange Awards 2019

The Faculty Knowledge Exchange (KE) Awards were introduced in 2011 in order to recognise each Faculty’s outstanding KE accomplishment that has made demonstrable economic, social or cultural impacts to benefit the community, business/industry, or partner organisations.

Nominations in each Faculty were considered by an Ad Hoc Faculty KE Award Selection Committee chaired by the Dean, and members included the Faculty representative serving on the KE Working Group, one of the Associate Directors of the Knowledge Exchange Office (KEO), and a member from outside the University.

The selection criteria include evidence of the KE project’s link with excellence in research or in teaching & learning of HKU; evidence of an effective engagement process with the non-academic sector(s); and evidence of demonstrable benefits to the community, business/industry, or partner organisations.

The following colleagues have won the Faculty KE Awards 2019 of their respective Faculties:

Faculty of Architecture:
Mr Alain CHIARADIA and team members - Professor Christopher John WEBSTERDr Guibo SUN and Dr Chinmoy SARKAR, Department of Urban Planning and Design
Spatial Design Network Analysis (sDNA) Improving Evidence-based Urban Planning and Design across Discipline Nationally and Worldwide

Faculty of Business and Economics:
Dr Lilian Him Lai CHANFaculty of Business and Economics
The Impact of Clawback Research on Policy Making by The Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) of the U.S.

Faculty of Dentistry:
Dr Walter Yu Hang LAM and team members – Professor Chun Hung CHUDr Mike Yiu Yan LEUNGDr Dominic King Lun HODr Duangporn DUANGTHIP, Dr Sherry S. GAO and Ms Kitty J.Y. CHEN, Faculty of Dentistry
Smiley Action Day: Empowering Non-profit Organisation & Engaging Community to Enhance Oral Health with the Utilization of Mobile Dental Services

Faculty of Education:
Dr Wai Ming CHEUNG and Dr Sau Yan HUI, Faculty of Education
Supporting Multicultural Dreamers and their Dreamkeepers in Culturally Relevant Chinese Language Learning for Social Inclusion

Faculty of Engineering:
Dr Wei PANDepartment of Civil Engineering
Modular Integrated Construction (MiC) for Buildings of Higher Quality, Productivity and Sustainability in Hong Kong

Faculty of Law:
Professor Shahla ALIDepartment of Law
Increasing Access to Consumer Financial Dispute Resolution in Hong Kong

Li Ka Shing Faculty of Medicine:
Professor Zhiwei CHENDepartment of Microbiology
Knowledge Exchange on HIV/AIDS to Promote HIV Prevention and Care

Faculty of Science:
Dr Caroline DINGLE and team members – Professor David DUDGEONDr David BAKERDr Timothy BONEBRAKEDr Yik Hei SUNG, Dr Wenda CHENG, Dr Shuang XING, Ms Tracey-Leigh PRIGGE, Mr John Lawrence RICHARDS, Miss Chole Emma Ruth WEBSTER, Ms Astrid Alex ANDERSSON, and Miss Victoria SHENG, School of Biological Sciences
Reduction of Illegal Global Wildlife Trade through Novel Conservation Forensics Research

Faculty of Social Sciences:
Professor Karen LAIDLERDepartment of Sociology
Influencing Drug Policies and Well-being of Drug Users in Hong Kong and East and Southeast Asia

My heartiest congratulations to all the colleagues concerned on their achievements in KE.

Professor Andy Hor
Vice-President and Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Research)
Director, Knowledge Exchange Office

September 3, 2019

Back to KE Spotlight