Skip to main content

Faculty Knowledge Exchange Awards 2018

The Faculty Knowledge Exchange (KE) Awards were introduced in 2011 in order to recognise each Faculty’s outstanding KE accomplishment that has made demonstrable economic, social or cultural impacts to benefit the community, business/industry, or partner organisations. 

Nominations in each Faculty were considered by an Ad Hoc Faculty KE Award Selection Committee chaired by the Dean, and members included the Faculty representative serving on the KE Working Group, one of the Associate Directors of the Knowledge Exchange Office (KEO), and a member from outside the University. 

The selection criteria include evidence of the KE project’s link with excellence in research or in teaching & learning of HKU; evidence of an effective engagement process with the non-academic sector(s); and evidence of demonstrable benefits to the community, business/industry, or partner organisations.

The following colleagues have won the Faculty KE Awards 2018 of their respective Faculties:

Faculty of Architecture:
Dr Weisheng LUDepartment of Real Estate and Construction, and team members – Professor Guo Quan HUANGDepartment of Industrial and Manufacturing Systems Engineering; and Professor Thomas Shiu Tong NGDepartment of Civil Engineering
RFID-Enabled Building Information Modeling (BIM) Platform for Prefabrication Housing Production in Hong Kong

Faculty of Arts:
Dr Li CHONGSchool of Modern Languages and Cultures
Promoting German in Secondary Schools

Faculty of Business and Economics:
Mr David Lorin BISHOPFaculty of Business and Economics
Enhanced Employment Agency Enforcement: A Step Towards Eliminating One of Hong Kong’s Largest Black-market Industries

Faculty of Dentistry:
Professor Edward Chin Man LO and team members – Professor Chun Hung CHU and Dr Duangporn DUANGTHIPFaculty of Dentistry
Managing Tooth Decay in Preschool Children through Community Engagement, Prevention and Caries Arrest Treatment with Silver Diamine Fluoride

Faculty of Education:
Professor Nirmala RAO and team members – Dr Diana Pui-ling LEE, Faculty of EducationProfessor John BACON-SHONESocial Sciences Research Centre; and Dr Patrick IPDepartment of Paediatrics and Adolescent Medicine
Impacting Early Childhood Policy in East Asia and the Pacific through Contextually-appropriate Assessment of Early Child Development

Faculty of Engineering:
Professor Tak Wah LAM and team members – Professor David Wai Lok CHEUNG and Dr Ruibang LUODepartment of Computer Science
Bioinformatics Algorithms and Next-Generation-Sequencing (NGS) Data Analysis

Faculty of Law:
Ms Rebecca Wing Chi LEE and Professor Lusina Kam Shuen HODepartment of Law
Introducing the Special Needs Trust to Hong Kong

Li Ka Shing Faculty of Medicine:
Professor Richard Man Fung YUENDepartment of Medicine, and team members – Dr Kevin Sze Hang LIU, Dr Walter Wai Kay SETODr Danny Ka Ho WONG, Dr Siu Yin WONG, Dr Michael Ka Shing CHEUNG, Mr John YUEN, Mr Chi Hang WU and Mr Charles Tze Kin CHENG, Department of Medicine; Professor Joseph Tsz Kei WU and Dr Eric Ho Yin LAUSchool of Public Health
A Population Based Study on the Seroprevalence of Viral Hepatitis in Hong Kong

Faculty of Social Sciences:
Professor Ngai PUNDepartment of Sociology
Changing the Practices of iSlave Producers and the Working Condition of Student-labourers in Apple Supplier Factories in China

My heartiest congratulations to all the colleagues concerned on their achievements in KE.

Professor Andy Hor
Vice-President and Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Research)
Director, Knowledge Exchange Office

Back to KE Spotlight