Skip to main content

Knowledge Exchange Awards 2017

Knowledge Exchange Awards 2017

Knowledge Exchange Awards 2017

The Faculty Knowledge Exchange (KE) Awards were introduced in 2011 in order to recognise each Faculty's outstanding KE accomplishment that has made demonstrable economic, social or cultural impacts to benefit the community, business/industry, or partner organisations.

Nominations in each Faculty were considered by an Ad Hoc Faculty KE Award Selection Committee chaired by the Dean, and members included the Faculty representative serving on the KE Working Group, one of the Associate Directors of the Knowledge Exchange Office (KEO), and a member from outside the University.

The selection criteria include evidence of the KE project's link with excellence in research or in teaching & learning of HKU; evidence of an effective engagement process with the non-academic sector(s); and evidence of demonstrable benefits to the community, business/industry, or partner organisations.

The following colleagues have won the Faculty KE Awards 2017 of their respective Faculties:

Faculty of Architecture:
Professor Rebecca Lai Har CHIU, Department of Urban Planning and Design, and team members – Professor Bo Sin TANG, Department of Urban Planning and Design; Professor Terry Yat Sang LUM and Dr Ernest Wing Tak CHUI, Department of Social Work and Social Administration
'Improving Livability in Ageing Hong Kong'

Faculty of Arts: 
Professor John Charles SCHENCKING, School of Humanities (History)
The Great Kanto Earthquake and a new understanding of responses to natural disasters

Faculty of Business and Economics: 
Mr David Lorin BISHOP, Faculty of Business and Economics     
Bringing Transparency to the Hong Kong Employment Agency Industry

Faculty of Dentistry: 
Dr Katherine Chiu Man LEUNG and team members – Professor Chun Hung CHUProfessor Edward Chin Man LO, Dr King Lun HO and Dr Duangthip DUANGPORN, Faculty of Dentistry
Empowering a Non-governmental Non-profit Organisation to Deliver Oral Home Care and Promote Awareness of Dementia in Elderly Care Centers

Faculty of Education: 
Dr Pui Sze YEUNGFaculty of Education (Division of Learning, Development & Diversity), and team members – Miss Po Yin TSANG and Miss Yan Lee CHAN, Centre for Advancement in Inclusive and Special Education; and Miss Peggie CHAN, Faculty of Education (Division of Learning, Development and Diversity)
Supporting Struggling Writers: From Theory to Practice

Faculty of Engineering: 
Dr Mingxin HUANG, Department of Mechanical Engineering     
High-strength Lightweight Steels for Low Emission Automobiles

Faculty of Law: 
Ms Puja Kapai PARYANI, Department of Law     
Plugging the Justice Gap for Minorities under the Law: Applied Intersectionality Research and Substantive Equality

Li Ka Shing Faculty of Medicine: 
Professor Danny CHAN, School of Biomedical Sciences, and team members – Dr Brian Hon Yin CHUNG, Department of Paediatrics and Adolescent Medicine; Dr Michael Kai Tsun TO, Department of Orthopaedics and Traumatology; Dr Wilson Cheuk Wing CHAN and Dr Vivian TAM, School of Biomedical Sciences     
Little People Care Alliance

Faculty of Science:
Dr Chi Hang HAU, School of Biological Sciences, and team members – Dr Winnie Wai Yi LAW, Ms Joyce Wan Chi CHOW, Mr Ryan Siu Him LEUNG, Miss Vivian Hoi Shan LEUNG, Miss Sianna Si In YIU, Mr Kimchi Wing Fung LO and Miss Shirley Yuen Ling MAK, Faculty of Social Sciences     
Global Forest Observatory: Public Involvement and Training in Scientific Research in Hong Kong

Faculty of Social Sciences:
Dr Qijin CHENG and team members – Professor Paul Siu Fai YIP, Miss Esther Sze Tsai LEE and Miss Christine Tsz Long YEUNG, The Hong Kong Jockey Club Centre for Suicide Research and Prevention    
Changing Suicide News Reporting in Hong Kong

My heartiest congratulations to all the colleagues concerned on their achievements in KE.

Professor Andy Hor
Vice-President and Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Research)
Director, Knowledge Exchange Office

Back to KE Spotlight